LinkedIn logo Find us on LinkedIn

Create and Manage CMS Users

Overview

The User Management function lets you create new CMS users, manage user access to areas of content, and control what editing and publishing actions each user is permitted to perform.

User types

The CMS has three default user types which we refer to in the CMS as user roles:

  • Production 
  • Editor
  • Editorial Director

Each role has different management privileges and determines what a user is allowed to do:

A Production user can create content and submit it for approval, but cannot publish it;

An Editor can create content and publish it;

An Editorial Director can create and publish content and also has the ability to create new CMS users.

Creating a new user

The Users block on the CMS home pages is where Editorial Directors can add users and manage who has access to what areas and features of their CMS.

Assuming that your user profile is set to Editorial Director, then you can set up a new user in three simple steps:

First select Manage from the Users block on the home page of the CMS

Next select 'add user' and populate the fields below with the details of the person that you adding, as shown on the left half of the page below. 

Having established who your new user is and what they are allowed to do, the final step is to specify where they are allowed to do it.

Your website may be located in a single Area or it may be divided into multiple Areas like the one illustrated above. When you have more than one Area then you can control the Areas that each user has access to. This will depend on the job that they do  and the location of the content that they need to access.

When a user logs into the CMS they will only see the Area options that are selected in the Area Access panel for their profile, this means that they will only be able to add and edit the articles that are located within those Areas.

When you have created a user, assigned a password, set the user Role and selected the appropriate Area access, click Update and your new user will be set up.

It is always advisable to log out of the CMS and log back in using the user credentials that you have just created so that you can check that the settings are correct before you send login details to the new user.

Once you have checked that the user settings are correct, then you are ready to give your new user their username and password and they can start to manage content.

Users can update their details and change their password via the 'My Profile' tab that is visible at the top of every page. 

Area access

Capturing your content work-flow is an important part of any website plan. By understanding what, when and who adds each content type, we can structure your CMS to work as efficiently as possible for you.

Assigning different types of content to different areas means that users only need see the folders and articles that are relevant to them. Areas can also be assigned to external agents to either upload content or download bookings or e-commerce orders. 

We can create as many Areas as you have agents. 

Custom user types

Custom user types are created to give particular users access to specific CMS functions. For example, If you have e-commerce articles on your site and want to give an external fulfilment company access to the CMS to download orders then we can create a user role that just has access to the Download Orders function.

If you sell a wide range of products on your site that are supplied by different companies then we can use both the CMS functions control and the CMS Areas Access so that each company only has the ability to download orders and can only see orders for their own products.

 

pdf icon

Download the pdf for Create and Manage CMS Users

Drop us a note

Where we are

wide area

Thanks for your enquiry, we'll get back to you shortly

Close

Contact us

Tel: +44 (0)20 7631 9280

Email: info@widearea.co.uk